Pismo Beach: An Amazing Hotel

best western plus: shelter cove lodge

We started our spring break vacation in Pismo Beach which is 188 miles (303 kilometers) north of Los Angeles. Having a Best Western Rewards membership I booked Best Western properties for all three cities online. It was my first time at the Best Western Plus: Shelter Cove Lodge and definitely will not be my last stay. The hotel is located at 2651 Price Street – only a few minutes away from U.S. Route 101. Over the years I have stayed in all types of accommodations from camping in a tent, to sleeping in a hostel, to staying beachfront in a condo in Maui, and I have to tell you this hotel was pretty amazing for being so moderately priced.

All rooms have an ocean view that you can take in from your balcony! There are two floors on the property, continental breakfast was included, free parking, an ocean view pool and hot tub, and there was a little secluded beach just steps away from the hotel. Luckily we were able to take advantage of all of these amenities. Max and I were so happy with this hotel that it was the highlight of our stay in Pismo Beach. Our personal favorite moment of the day was going on the balcony in the late afternoon taking in views of the Pacific. It was heavenly… especially after a busy day exploring the area. Although we enjoyed the remainder of our trip in Santa Cruz and San Francisco each evening we thought back to our time in Pismo Beach, relaxing together at the hotel in the evening taking in the beautiful view.

This property is such a gem that I want everyone to know about it. Please note that there is another Best Western Plus property on Price Street so if you want to stay here be sure to book the Shelter Cove Lodge Hotel. Whenever we return to Pismo Beach I will not hesitate to book this property again.

stairs to the ocean

walking to the beach

final steps to the ocean

rock with hole

family beach shot

the cove

view from the beach

This was our walk to the beach and hanging out on the shore.

balcony view

balcony view 2

Our balcony was a favorite spot for everyone, especially for the adults!

8 thoughts on “Pismo Beach: An Amazing Hotel

    • Hi Mia, Thanks for liking and commenting on my post! We really lucked out on lodging with this place. I highly recommend it if you find yourself in the Central Coast of California.

  1. Wonderful Pismo Beach, oh yet more happy memories, and so great to see all your wonderful, happy pics Tieshka! Looks like you had a great time, and oh look at that beach and Californian sunshine…makes me homesick!! Drove through Pismo so many times…a lifetime ago…
    Happy Mother’s Day Tieshka, have a beautiful day… :-)

    • Hi Sherri- I was pleasantly surprised by Pismo Beach. I had stopped at the pier with the kids on a farmer’s market day on our way home from SF and that was my only exposure to the area. It was nice to be able to explore the town this time around. I really liked the town of Shell Beach and we drove over to San Luis Obispo as well. Don’t know if you’ve had the famous cinnamon rolls in town- but we didn’t have time to do that!! So I have a reason to return and actually will be in Central California again in August, lucky me! :) Have a wonderful Mother’s Day too! Thanks. We did First Communion for my daughter today and my mother-in-law is in town from Italy right now. Busy, busy, busy….

      • Yes, I remember the cinnamon rolls, if indeed they are the same ones still to this day! SLO is home from home, in fact my middle boy was born there and my eldest attended Cal Poly :-)
        Exciting! Have a great week :-)

    • Hi Jeannie-
      Your friends did an amazing job building this property- and it was put it in the perfect location. You should send the link to this post so they can see what it looks like today! Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

