Walking the Golden Gate Bridge

It was an amazingly beautiful spring day in 2017. I was in San Francisco for the weekend with my daughter and her Girl Scout troop. The whirlwind trip had begun on Friday afternoon driving up to Northern California from Los Angeles. Now on Saturday morning we found ourselves on a bus crossing the Golden Gate Bridge on U.S. Highway 101/ State Road 1 to Marin County. Taking in the views I saw a blue sky, the sun shining brightly, and glimpsed at Alcatraz to the East of me. I was preparing to cross the Golden Gate Bridge which was constructed from 1933 – 1937 and became California landmark #937 in 1987.

After taking a picture at a ‘lookout point’ we began the 1 mile walk to San Francisco. I was prepared carrying bottled water, a windbreaker, and a warm cap. I was temping fate wearing a pair of shorts when I knew that the wind would be whipping around me like crazy for 45 minutes. I had luckily chosen the right outfit that April morning as we had unusually warm weather. You never know what type of weather you will face in San Francisco. Layering up is the best option.

I walked in the back of the group sometimes in conversation and sometimes in silence taking in the amazing views of the bay and the city in front of me. Alcatraz was a beautiful sight that day, no fog, and I had to ponder how inmates in the prison (Alcatraz) sanely lived there while seeing and hearing everything going on in the city so close to them.

I took a ton of pictures on that walk across the Golden Gate Bridge. There were 7,000 Girl Scout with me that day, but I was able to take the time to reflect and enjoy the view. Participating in the “Bridging Trip” events of the day I was so happy to have spent my morning crossing my favorite bridge, in one of my favorite cities, with my daughter and her troop.

This was my second crossing of the Golden Gate Bridge by foot. My first trip across was with my dad when I was in my 20’s. I highly recommend planning time to walk across from the direction of Marin County to San Francisco if given the opportunity. It may be another 20 years until I cross again, but I look forward to that possibility. Meanwhile I will enjoy reflecting on my first two experiences walking across that beautiful bridge that defines the San Francisco skyline beyond it.

Below are some photos from my walk last spring…..

Leave a comment