Remembering Paris

I visited Paris two summers ago with my two teenagers.  They had both visited as toddlers, but that was so long ago.  I was excited to show them my favorite city and meet up with friends whom they had met in the United States multiple times.  I had so many things I wanted to show them on this trip, and I was excited to explore places where teenagers like to go.

After arriving by train in Paris it was nice visiting a friend for a homecooked meal during our month-long of traveling through Europe.   Our last homecooked meal had been two weeks prior in Italy.  Now we were navigating the metro and city streets to visit my girlfriend.  She and her husband had made a lovely meal, and I had the chance to eat ratatouille for the first time.  Before dinner, we walked around the neighborhood and following dinner, we headed back to the hotel by Metro.

On This Trip We:

Visited the Musee D’Orsay and the Special Gaudi Exhibition

Walked the Grounds Surrounding the Louvre and the Jardin des Tuileries Finding a Moment to Stop for Pastries

Thrift Shopped at a Few Kilo Shops, Which Were My Teenager’s Favorite Spot Shopping for New Clothes

Met Friends from Los Angeles at the Starbucks Opera Location. The Building Dates Back to the 17th Century and is a Breathtaking Spot to Visit

Took a Photo by Notre Dame on the Île de la Cite

Ate at Many Brasseries

Visited the Tour Eiffel Using the Elevator and Opting to Walk Down the Stairs from the 2ème étage (Second Floor) to the Ground Floor

Visited the Musee L’Orangerie. Prior to Visiting the Museum, the Kids Ate Their Favorite Burger During Vacation At Our Lunch Stop

Walked the Champs-Elysees to the Arc de Triomphe Monument

I Took Some Time To Visit Spots from My Second Trip to Paris, but My First Trip Abroad Alone 26 Years Ago. Those Memories and People from That Trip Were the Beginning of My Love Affair with This City.

Went to Montmartre to Explore and Eat Lunch

Visited the Jardin du Luxembourg. It Was within Walking Distance from Our Hotel So I Went Back Frequently.  This Spot, Where I Did So Much Soul-Searching as a 25-Year-Old Girl, Still is My Favorite Spot to Reflect

We Went Out to Dinner with an Old Friend and His Family.  Prosper et Fortunee is a Farm-To-Table Restaurant Where the Chef Cooks For a Few Tables. That Night the Chef Opened Just for Our Two Families and We Ate a Fabulous Meal.

At Gumbo YaYa We Ate One of My Son’s Favorite Dishes, Fried Chicken. When I Told Them That We Were from Los Angeles They Knew of the Famous Fried Chicken and Waffles Spot in Our City. Of Note, the Batter on That Chicken was The Best I Have Ever Had!

Visited the Café du Chats for Dessert with My Cat-Loving Daughter

Wondered Around the Galeries Lafayette (Department Store) and Visited the Rooftop Observation Deck

Took the Metro Everywhere!!

Traveled the Seine River on a Bateaux Mouche

Played in the Pouring Rain at the Jardin D ’Acclimatation Having the Time of Our Lives.  We Stayed So Long that the Rain Finally Stopped and Our Clothes Were Almost Dry by the Time We Left.

Leave a comment